From BJP turncoat to Kharge’s son, probable Congress leaders to join Karnataka cabinet with Sidda,

From BJP turncoat to Kharge’s son, probable Congress leaders to join Karnataka cabinet with Sidda,

By India Today News Desk: The stage is all set for Siddaramaiah’s grand oath-taking ceremony as the chief minister of Karnataka in Bengaluru. With him, several other ministers will be inducted into the state cabinet. After losing out to Siddaramaiah in the CM race, DK Shivakumar will take oath as the deputy CM on Saturday, May 20.

Reports are rife that a set of ministers would take the oath of office on Saturday, while another would be inducted a few days later.

Here’s a look at some probable names who could be inducted into the cabinet.

Laxman Savadi

After registering a comfortable win against BJP candidate Mahesh Kumathalli, BJP turncoat Laxman Savadi might be joining the Karnataka Cabinet. The Lingayat leader had resigned from the primary membership of the BJP after being denied a ticket to contest the polls.

Savadi was the eighth deputy chief minister of Karnataka. He also held the Minister of Transport profile from 2019 to 2021 as a BJP leader, in the BS Yediyurappa cabinet.

Priyank Kharge

Congress national president Mallikarjun Kharge’s son Priyank Kharge won the Karnataka Assembly election from the Chittapur constituency. He defeated BJP leader Manikanta Rathod by over 13,000 votes, recording his third consecutive victory in the seat.

According to reports, Kharge is expected to join the Karnataka Cabinet. He had earlier served as the Minister for IT, Tourism & Social Welfare.

G Parmeshwara

G Parameshwara won the election from the Koratagere constituency against JD(S) leader PR Sudhakar Lal. The veteran Congress leader served as the deputy chief minister during the Congress-JD(S) coalition government led by HD Kumaraswamy.

He was also the longest-serving Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) chief for eight years. Parameshwara, who represents Koratagere in Tumakuru district, had lost the 2013 Assembly polls when he was KPCC president.

Once among the frontrunners for CM in Karnataka, he was made an MLC and a minister in the Siddaramaiah government (2013-2018). Along with DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah, he was also an aspirant for both the posts of CM and deputy CM of Karnataka.

Satish Jarkiholi

Congress MLA Satish Jarkiholi won the Karnataka election from the Yamakanamaradi seat in the Belagavi district. He was Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) working president. The seat has been a stronghold of Congress, with Satish Jarkiholi winning the previous three elections held on the seat in 2008, 2013 and 2018.

Laxmi Hebbalkar

Laxmi Hebbalkar, a key Congress leader, won the Karnataka Assembly election from the Belgaum Rural seat, defeating her nearest BJP rival Nagesh Annappa Manolkar by over 56,000 votes. In 2015, she was appointed as the president of the Karnataka women’s wing by the Congress leadership. Laxmi, a post-graduate from Mysore University, had previously contested the 2013 Assembly elections from the Belagavi rural constituency but lost to the BJP.

Ramalinga Reddy

Congress leader Ramalinga Reddy retained his BTM Layout seat in the Karnataka Assembly election. Reddy has a vibrant profile, as he has served as a minister in the Veerappa Moily government in 1992, the N Dharam Singh government in 2004 and the Siddaramiah government between 2013 and 2018.

An eight-time MLA and four-time minister in Karnataka, he was also the home minister of the state. He became an MLA in 1989 from the Jayanagar constituency and continued his winning streak till 2004. After the delimitation process in 2008, he chose to contest from BTM Layout.

Tanveer Sait

Congress leader Tanveer Sait won the Karnataka election from the Narasimharaja constituency for the sixth time. He defeated BJP’s Sandesh Swamy by over 30,000 votes.

Krishna Byredgowda

After his 2023 win from the Byatarayanapura Assembly seat, Krishna Byredgowda became a six-time MLA from the seat. He defeated BJP leader Thammesh Gowda HC by over 30,000 votes. He has formerly served as minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj.

Also Read: Bengaluru Traffic Police notifies routes ahead of CM’s oath-taking ceremony | Details

KJ George

Congress leader KJ George registered his sixth victory in the Sarvagna Nagar constituency in Bengaluru. The senior party leader has served as a youth leader with the Congress since Indira Gandhi’s rule. He has been part of different Congress governments since 1989.

George is known to be Siddaramaiah’s most trusted man and shares proximity with Sonia Gandhi. He was the City Development and Town Planning minister. He also held the position of MoS Transport, Food and Civil Supplies during the Veerandra Patil government.

MB Patil

Congress leader MB Patil won the Babaleshwar seat by a margin of over 15,000 votes against BJP candidate Vijayakumar Patil. He is a prominent Lingayat leader in the state, and had started his political journey in 1991.

He successfully contested the assembly elections from Tikota. Following this, the Congress leader contested the Lok Sabha polls from Bijapur (now renamed as Vijayapura) and became an MP.

Also Read: What lessons can Telangana Congress learn from its Karnataka unit

Source Link


Leave a Reply